Vancouver
Detector(s) used
White's Coinmaster
Garrett AT Pro
Deteknix Xpointer
ProPointer AT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've been MD-ing for a few months now, and while my wife has been at my side for every hunt I can tell she wants to do more than carry the backpack full of tools and water bottles. I have told her plenty of times that if she doesn't want to watch me have all the fun or feels bored to just let me know. We agreed that a second MD would be a good idea.

Last weekend I asked if she felt comfortable using our Coinmaster and she said that as long as she could shorten it to a comfortable length and it wasn't too heavy she would be fine with it. At only 2 1/2 lbs and after adjusting the height she was soon swinging it around effortlessly. The only caveat is that she would also like another handheld pinpointer, which is no problem.

anyways I was looking for a new detector for myself, hoping to use it for general relic hunting/coin shooting. I would also like a detector that can scan saltwater sand, possibly with the option to take it underwater in freshwater rivers. Numerical readout is a must, and discrepancy options as well as a built-in pinpointer. something with changeable coils would be nice, especially if it means having the ability to sweep saltwater sand with a bigger coil.

I have looked on the site Metal Detector News, Reviews and Ratings and have been looking at the Garrett Sea Hunter Mark II, and AT Pro. I am open to other models/manufacturers as well

thanks for your input :icon_thumleft:

Upvote 0

ps249

Dec 17, 2012
Michigan
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Check out the Whites mxt detectors. The mxt model is probably Whites most versatile "do it all detector" (with an asterik*) coin and jewelry, relic, prospecting, saltwater surf and desert, freshwater surf. The only downside is the screen and control box are not waterproof. The pinpointing and depth reading on the mxt detectors are "Spot On".