New to idea and need some help getting set up.

Sean57

Dec 22, 2014
Indiana
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello, my name is Shaun and I am in Northern Indiana.

I am new to the Idea of metal detecting and ready to purchase a machine/setup yo get started(or at least get ready for spring hunting). I'm not sure what I need. I know I need a machine and some headphones(it may be that simple). The only Metal detectors I have looked at are from Minelab and seem to be decent. I know I live were two Rivers meet so it would be nice to have a waterproof model. I know some of you may say don't spend a lot of money in the beginning in case you don't stick with the hobby. I would rather spend the money now than find I want to upgrade three months into the summer. I also want to give the hobby a chance.I also fly radio controlled helicopters for another hobby, I have far too many times seeing hobbyist try to get into that hobby and leave because they were using subpar equipment. They easily become frustrated and discouraged and quit, that's not a fair shake. I would appreciate all ideas and thoughts on what I might need or want to research. I am open for all ideas, and willing to listen as I know nothing of these machines. I thank you all In advance.

-Shaun-

Upvote 0

signal

Apr 30, 2011
Royal Palm Beach, Fl
Detector(s) used
Minelab CTX-3030, Minelab Exalibur II, Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Minelab CTX-3030 is an excellent machine that could do both the river and land. Its expensive. Another good machine, than can do land and water is the Garrett AT Pro, not as good as the CTX-3030, but TreasureNet is full of stories and finds from people using this detector to pull stuff out all the time.

The other way to do it, would be two detectors, one for land and one for water. For water you could look at the Minelab Excalibur II, or a much cheaper Tesoro Sand Shark or Tiger Shark. Tesoro's have lifetime warranty which is nice.

OP
OP
S