permission

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2

I'm new to this cool hobby. Who if any should I ask to search school yards.

Welcome to the hobby and to T'net.

Question about the school you have in mind: Do others use the school yard after hours? Eg.: jog the track, walk their dog, use the basket-ball hoops or chin-up bars, etc.... ? If so, then what makes you think you need permission ? (any-more-so than those other persons probably didn't need it).

Or are you talking about a school that is fenced like Ft. Knox, no open gates, no one can ever use it after hours, etc.... ?

Pointman

Silver Member
Feb 18, 2013
Arkansas
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
I’ve used about all modern ones but right now: CTX 3030, White’s MXT Pro, XP Deus, Vaquero, White’s TRX
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I wouldn't unless it was a private school, or fenced or posted. I wouldn't go during school hours or dig up areas like the football field. If you need to ask, I would go straight to the school principal.

Boatlode

Bronze Member
Mar 30, 2014
Florida Treasure Coast
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Sand Shark......
Nokta Pulse dive....
Scubapro Jet Fins...................
Mares Puck dive computer.......
Sherwood Silhouette BCD.......
Poseidon Cyklon 300 regulator...
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
I'm new to this cool hobby. Who if any should I ask to search school yards.

Don't ask don't tell. Public property is yours too.

Nugs Bunny

Mar 13, 2013
Ohio
Detector(s) used
White's MXT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Bear this in mind when taking advice from people on the internet... they won't be there to bail you out of jail... they won't be going to Court with you...

The legality of metal detecting school property varies depending on location. Most States would consider it trespassing, and that has been debated here numerous times.