I cant find the signals my detector is giving?

Minimal

Greenie
Jan 2, 2015
Oregon
Detector(s) used
Garrett ACE 350, Garrett pro-pointer AT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I can't find the signals my detector is giving?

So I am new to metal detecting and I almost every signal my detector gives off and that I dig, I can't find whatever the item was. I know some of the signals may have been false ones, but surely they can't all be. One thing that may be making it harder for me is that I do not have something like a pro pointer yet. Does anyone know what may wrong and/or any tips to help me find the signals?

PS I am using a Garrett ACE 350

Upvote 0

RustyGold

Gold Member
Aug 16, 2013
Southern California
Detector(s) used
XP Deus I & II
Xterra Pro
Primary Interest:
Other
Learn to pinpoint the target with your detector's coil (should be in the center of your coil).
Read the instructions in the manual (or you tube) for your model on how it's done. By all means get a propointer.
It makes it a lot easier to locate your target in the hole.
Best of luck!

KneeDeep31

Aug 6, 2014
Detector(s) used
Garrett GTI 2500
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You might also want to try and turn your sensitivity down a bit... My Garrett will give off false signals when its set to high.

Phantasman

Gold Member
Nov 24, 2006
NE Tennessee
Detector(s) used
Nokta Simplex, Land Ranger Pro, Quick Draw Pro, Deteknix XPointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Slow your swing. The 350 doesn't have the fastest recovery rate. If you swing fast, you may be hearing the tone when it's 3 or 4 inches past the target, Also, Oregon has high mineralized soil. Meaning you have to reduce sensitivity, You should still get 6" with reduced sensitivity.

Higgy

Bronze Member
Jul 21, 2014
NH
Detector(s) used
Xp Deus, Tesoro Tiger Shark, Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Pro-Pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting