GARRETT ACE 250 AND ITS LIMITATIONS

olprofessor

Jan 14, 2015
Northridge, Ca.
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
All Ace 250 users- Im relatively new to MDing and bought my Ace 250 about 3 months ago. I was concerned about finding only clad even at homes built prior to 1940. I found a vid on Youtube where a guy built a coffin sized box, filled it w/ dirt and did a Ace 250 depth test- first at 4", then 5" then 6". The first 2 depths received a response. After 6 inches there was virtually no signal. I know they're supposed to go 8+ inches, but now Im wondering if that's why Im getting only clad. Has this been your experience? Thanks...

Upvote 0

bill from lachine

Gold Member
Oct 30, 2011
Quebec
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I used the Ace for 2 seasons about 5 or 6 years ago and about 6" was the best I could do on coin size object...larger objects I'd pick them up deeper than that.

Regards + HH

Bill

luvsdux

Bronze Member
May 16, 2007
Lewiston, Idaho
Detector(s) used
Multiple Tesoros and Whites
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Haven't used the Ace, but as an entry level machine with factory preset ground balance, bill from lachine pretty well describes the likely expectations. Mineralization, moisture content etc. all have an effect on depth so a coin signal at 8" in air may only be 6" or even less in some areas.
luvsdux

krymesolvr93

Oct 27, 2013
New Hampshire
Detector(s) used
Garrett GTI 2500
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting