StBarbara

Apr 7, 2015
Denver, CO
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Outlaw
Garrett Pro-pointer AT
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Some friends/neighbors want me to MD their yards (though I am a newbie and haven't even MD'ed my own yard yet). One person asked how long after digging and restoring a plug of lawn grass will the plug (typically) be reattached firmly to the ground? Once summer gets going here, people mow every week. Will the lawnmower detach the plugs I have dug and restored?

Upvote 0

Jason in Enid

Gold Member
Oct 10, 2009
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Dig deep plugs so you don't disrupt the roots. Water the yard well after youre done detecting and everything will be fine in a few days.

OP
OP
StBarbara

StBarbara

Apr 7, 2015
Denver, CO
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Outlaw
Garrett Pro-pointer AT
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Cool, Jason in Enid. Thanks for the tip!

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 2, Equinox 800/900, Fisher Impulse AQ, E-Trac, 3 Excal 1000's, White's TM808, VibraProbe, 15" NEL Attack, Mi6, Steath 920ix and 720i scoops, TRX, etc....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Don't cut complete round plugs. Cut only 3 sides and leave the 4th side still attached. This type of "trapped door" plug won't die and will recover much faster than one you've completely cut and removed from the ground. A 3 sided plug is less likely to get pulled up by a lawn mower too. If the ground conditions are right, you don't have to cut a plug at all. Sometimes you can just cut a slit, spread it apart, recover the target, and then "stitch" it back closed again with your probe or screwdriver. Try these methods in your own yard before you subject any experimental torture to your friends/neighbors yards! :laughing7:

Kevin in IN

Feb 21, 2011
N.Indiana
Detector(s) used
Minelab Sov.GT , Explorer SE Pro , Excalibur 1000
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting