metal detector. good for beginner gold propector in california?

steveh2112

Apr 18, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
hi all. i am a total newbee to gold prospecting
i've watched a lot of youtube videos and not sure if a detector is a good idea for me. i plan to spend a month or so in the sierras panning and wonder if a metal detector will help me find the richer gold areas?

i understand they are great for nuggets but nuggest are rare. i'm more interested in finding good places to pan for the fine stuff.

will a detector help me given i have no experience where to look other than watching all the gold vids on youtube.

thx steve

Upvote 0

jeepGold

Sep 7, 2014
Vegas
Detector(s) used
CTX3030, Nox800
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
AT Gold BUT for fines, and flour gold, pretty much NO detector will detect it. If you can find a small nuggy then it'll be with either a gold bug or a AT Gold. That's best to be used in the desert. River banks and such you just need to learn how to read the river bed. I like desert prospecting and have a dry washer. I've found little nug's here and there with my AT. That's when I stop and set up the dry washer.
Learn how to read the terrain and either get a dry washer for the dry stuff or a sluice for the wet

cruiserkev

Jan 18, 2015
Primary Interest:
Other