CyrusKain

Greenie
May 19, 2015
Northern Virginia
Detector(s) used
Minelab E-trac
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Good day! I've taken the time to review a lot of posts on these forums, and I look forward to seeing familiar faces from now on as I venture into detecting.

First: I'm a newcomer, so if I'm asking a question that's already been addressed, I apologize; I did try to search and look before I posted.

Second: I'm a beginner, but I want a machine I can "grow into" as my experience grows. I can detect 2-3 days a week for a couple hours each day. Hobby :)

From articles, reviews, and these forums, I've come across a plethora of seemingly great detectors, but I think I've narrowed it down to two:

Garret AT PRO
or
Minelabs X-Terra 705

I live in northern Virginia (high mineralization) and won't be on the beaches of Eastern Virginia (I'm not in the mountains, but probably will go to mountains). I don't plan on diving into lakes and streams (although I wouldn't rule out sticking my coil down under water), and I'm mainly going to be searching for coins, civil war relics, and perhaps jewelry (naturally occurring gold isn't found in this area; any gold would be lost jewelry, which I wouldn't mind in the least)!

Could you seasoned pros help me in my decision on which device to purchase? Budget isn't an issue (I know the AT PRO is cheaper, but I'm comfortable paying more for the X-Terra if it's better for my use/environment).

I appreciate the help!

V/r,

Michael

Upvote 0

bigfoot1

Silver Member
Nov 1, 2011
so.cal.mtns.
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
garrett,minelab,fisher,,,atp current weapon of choice
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting