Need help choosing a metal detector that is being given to me!

Kuntzy

Jul 24, 2015
North Vernon IN
Detector(s) used
tesoro vaquero
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
My little cousin is moving to Alaska and has 2 metal detectors, but wants to give me one since I have never metal detected. She called me today and told me to come over this week and I could pick one of the 2 and she would give it to me. One is a Garrett and the other is a Tesoro. Both units are used in excellent condition and around 2-3 years old I believe. I cant recall the model of the Tesoro but the Garrett is an AT PRO, I think. I have never used a metal detector before and really need some advice and guidance on which unit to choose. Help please , because I have no idea which is better, if either is even any good, and eventually which one to choose.

Upvote 0

eyemustdigtreasure

Silver Member
Mar 2, 2013
California
Detector(s) used
Fisher Gold Bug Pro
Tesoro Cibola
Nokta Pointer; Phillips SHS5200 phones
Nokta Macro SIMPLEX +
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Both are excellent choices, but she's giving only one away..., and
I own a Tesoro Cibola, and love it, but it doesn't do all the tricks that the
Garrett AT Pro will do, so I'd suggest asking for that....

kingskid1611

Gold Member
Feb 23, 2015
Oklahoma
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
This is a much harder decision then you think. Each will require you put in some time for the learning curve but both offer many differences. I would choose the pro but would want to take them both for a test drive.

BigWaveDave

Gold Member
Nov 22, 2013
Mountain Maryland
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, AT Max, Minelab
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
At Pro... more versatile and better technical support and service from Garrett, even second hand

Bquamb

Dec 29, 2014
Vancouver Island
Detector(s) used
CTX 3030, EQ 800, AT-Pro, Xterra-505
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting