New to Metal Detecting ... need some advice

stunmo

Aug 29, 2015
Willard, Missouri
Detector(s) used
Whites Classic 2SL
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am new to metal detecting and love the hobby, but I have a older Whites Classic 2 SL detector which is not giving me much luck. I bought it used and not sure if it is discriminating properly. I have alot of nails in my yard and it is hard to find anything worth keeping. I am shopping for a new detector but my funds will only let me go up to only $375 dollars to spend. I am trying to decide on a Minelab Xterra 305, Fisher F44 or a Garrett Ace 350, which one is the best machine? Please help me.... Thanks!

Upvote 0

redcobra8u

Bronze Member
Jan 24, 2014
Los Angeles
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excal II, Garrett AT Pro, CTX3030
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I'm not familiar with the Whites. I sure do like the AT Pro if you can step up that high in price. Paid for mine many times over.

Tnmountains

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 27, 2009
South East Tennessee on Ga, Ala line
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Conquistador freq shift
Fisher F75
Garrett AT-Pro
Garet carrot
Neodymium magnets
5' Probe
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Do not rule out the line of Tesoro it really discriminates on iron.

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Tesoro Cibola!

Chris R

Feb 17, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I would get the F44 or the Treasure Pro from Whites. I would not even consider the Ace from Garrett. The first two have a lot more features than the Garrett. But that Whites machine is no slouch.

Sent from my LG-LS720 using Tapatalk

Charlie P. (NY)

Gold Member
Feb 3, 2006