Minelab Explorer SE vs Whites DFX

MikeSD

May 28, 2007
First let me tell a little about myself and what I plan to use these for. I've retired from one job already and am thinking about retiring for good in a year or two. That puts me in the early 60s. ;D

I suspect that I would mostly use these for searching in most of the usual places (beach, parks, etc) but I also want to dabble at nugget hunting along rivers and in non-water areas like one might find in AZ. I also have an interest in history and would like to take a stab and searching old towns and and such for relics.

I am a working Electrical Design Engineer and the technology of these is of academic interest as well (i.e. I like gadgets). I don't think I will have any problem with any learning curve for each, from a technical point of view. How they are best used, from a practical point of view, is something that my background won't help on. ;) However, I also think MD'ing will be good exercise in my retirement and it gives me a lot of things to do on trips.

I have also considered starting with one of the lower priced units like the Ace 250 but decided I don't really want to start there. I have done that before on other activities and have found over the years that I always tend to prefer to buy the best I can find at a specified limit. However I have also ruled out anything over $1500.

I will be purchasing one of these two (DFX or SE), in the coming days. I have read the specifications and like some things on both. Both seem like fine machines based on specs. I also like the many frequencies of the SE and the EPROM features of the DFX. I think having the ability to save tweaked settings might be useful. I think either would serve me well.

However, I think the pros and cons of each aren't covered in any of their specifications. I think those are best gained by talking to those that have actually used them.

So, from a practical point of view, what are the pros and cons of each?

Thanks
Mike

Upvote 0