Newbie with questions. Beeping Rock!!

K

kittnrose

Hi All... I'm new to metal detecting, I have an Outlaw detector that I bought off Ebay. So far I've dug up a rusty shovel head and a bunch of spikes, all from the back field @ my parent's house (used to be a dairy farm)...Here I also found a large rock that sets off the detector. I thought detectors were supposed to ignore rocks. I set the discriminate and sensitivity according to the instructions, and this rock still sets it off....??? It's sure not gold. Thanks for your time...M P.S. I'm in Northwest CT, Windham County

Upvote 0

hollowpointred

Gold Member
Mar 12, 2005
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE/Garrett GTI 2500/ Ace 250
the rock probably has iron or some other metal in it. they are called hot rocks since they set your machine off. we have `em here too.

warsawdaddy

Gold Member
Nov 23, 2004
Edwards,Missouri
Detector(s) used
MXT - DeLeon - Gamma 6000
Don't know where you are located,and without pics,it's difficult to say.It could be as hollowpointred says,a hot rock or it could be a meteorite,just not enough info.

Copperhead

Bronze Member
Feb 27, 2007
The Constituition State
Detector(s) used
Ace250
As a fellow connecticut-tonian, I can a attest to the fact that I have come across more than my fair share of "hot" rocks here. I don't know what their composition is..but most of the time they ring up on my Ace as a dime...I just chuck 'em and keep swinging....BTW....welcome to Tnet..

Ammietuar

Sep 18, 2005
Suffolk UK
Detector(s) used
MXT/PI Pro/Garrett GS
on both my whites (mxt and classic 2) and my garrett GS, hot rocks seem to make a "BOING" sound or no sound then a hard loud and sudden beep when it has cleared the coil, rather than the solid "beep" youd get from any peice of metal under the coil.. hope that helps....

ivan salis

Gold Member
Feb 5, 2007
callahan,fl
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
delta 4000 / ace 250 - used BH and many others too