Metal detecting for kids - what do buy??

macphisto1993

Mar 24, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi there,

My almost 9-year-old son is begging for a metal detector for his upcoming birthday in June. He got introduced to the hobby by watching YouTube videos and is just amazed at what people have found.

So, we bought him a Bounty Hunter metal detector. My question is, what other accessories would he need as I have no knowledge at all on the subject. I know that headphones are used, can you use any kind of headphones or do they need to be specifically for a metal detector? He keeps also talking about a pouch, a shovel and other stuff that people use. To begin he will be going in the large field behind our house and most likely to the beach in the summer. What are the "must haves" for metal detecting?

Thanks so much for you help! :thumbsup:

Last edited:
Upvote 0
OP
OP
M

macphisto1993

Mar 24, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Wow, thank you so much for the wealth of information! This helps so much and I will definitely use this as a guide. I didn't even think about the rules for digging in my city to be honest, I am so glad you mentioned that.

We just got him a basic detector for now as we want to make sure this is something he sticks with (you know how kids are). I really hope he does as I think it's a really neat hobby.

Thanks again for replying!

SirWalterRaleigh

Jul 29, 2015
Raleigh, North Carolina
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro,
Garrett Ace 350
Garrett pinpointer
Lesche 85 and Sampson t-handle 31"
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
My 10 year old step son has already out grown his bounty hunter after 6 months. He's ready for one with different tones. That being said, may I suggest tot lots and place where the digging is easy.

My step son has problems digging in tough ground

And a pinpointer is crucial

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used