First post, which detector?

Oldiron

Apr 4, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am wanting to get into detectingm and my budget is around $150 for a detector. Being a newbie, I want something pretty simple but that also performs well.

I have been looking at some vintage ones, like Whites and Garretts - are there any good tried and true vintage models of those? Or am I going to get a better fit from a newer unit like a Compadre?

Upvote 0

GA_Boy

Bronze Member
Jul 30, 2006
Jefferson, Ga
Detector(s) used
BH LRP
1265X,
GoldBug II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Your best shot would be to buy NEW. You can get a Tesoro Compadre for $160.00 brand spanking new.
Here is the link. Pay no mind to those that say you must have a pin pointer. With your budget you can do without it until you find some valuable stuff to sell. Welcome to the world of metal detecting, but I must warn you, it's habit forming. Good Luck.
Marvin
Tesoro Compadre Metal Detectors- Kellyco

Tom Slick

Jul 21, 2012
Mesa AZ
Detector(s) used
XP Deus & Deus II, Makro Multi Kruzer, White's DFX w/18" Arrow Coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I agree with GA Boy. It's pretty hard to find a quality detector used in your price bracket. The Compadre Can compete with many new detectors and surpass many of them in certain hunt conditions. I'd recommend the 5 3/4" coil for it's separation and ease of pinpointing. Happy Hunting.

OP
OP
O

Oldiron

Apr 4, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thank you GA Boy and Tom Slick. I appreciate the advise!

Normsel

Bronze Member
Sep 10, 2012
D'Iberville MS
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
E-Trac
Equinox 800
Equinox 600
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Call Bart at Bigboyshobbies, he is a straight shooter and will advise you which detector is best for your budget

Fletch88

Silver Member
Mar 7, 2013
Valdosta, GA
Detector(s) used
Garrett ATPro- 8.5x11, 5x8, CORS Fotune 5.5x9.5
Tesoro Silver microMax- 8 donut, 8x11 RSD, 3x18 Cleansweep