MDing at a City Park question

isola

Greenie
May 15, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
MD'ing at a City Park question

So I'm new to this and I'm using a bounty hunter sharp shooter (it was a gift from my 6, 3, and 8month old). I decided to try to MD at a park but every 3"inches or so it beeped. My husband said it must be picking up electrical wires or something that are buried under ground.
Does that normally happen? Am I doing something wrong? I tried turning up the discrimination mode but it still kept doing it. I did dig a couple of times and found a nail, quarter, pennies, beer caps, and a few I didn't find anything (maybe didn't dig deep enough?)

Upvote 0

Feb 25, 2008
Jackson Purchase area of western Kentucky.
Detector(s) used
Minelab Vanquish 540. Fisher CZ-21; Bounty Hunter SS II; Garrett Carrot.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
So I'm new to this and I'm using a bounty hunter sharp shooter (it was a gift from my 6, 3, and 8month old). I decided to try to MD at a park but every 3"inches or so it beeped. My husband said it must be picking up electrical wires or something that are buried under ground.
Does that normally happen? Am I doing something wrong? I tried turning up the discrimination mode but it still kept doing it. I did dig a couple of times and found a nail, quarter, pennies, beer caps, and a few I didn't find anything (maybe didn't dig deep enough?)

My SS II can go pretty deep on some items. However, it will false in heavy mineralized ground. But if you are digging and still getting a repeatable signal then you haven't dug deep enough yet. :-)

Indian Steve

Silver Member
Oct 23, 2011
Stuart VA
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It could be that you are digging it up and not seeing it. It is very easy to miss a small item in the dirt. A pinpointer would help. Good Luck!

Troller

Mar 5, 2016
Wisconsin
Detector(s) used
Fisher F5 DD, Si Robertson TC2X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting