questions on MPX & Titan 3000xd MDs

melnatcat

Mar 9, 2005
Central Minnesota
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
questions on MPX & Titan 3000xd MD's

A newbie here, too. Want to get into metal detecting for more than just a hobby. Live in the Land'o'Lakes, lots of places to search. I've spent hours researching MD's, reviews & prices. From what I can tell the Bounty Hunters get the best reviews. BH along with the Titans are made by 1st Texas, but I cannot find any reviews on the Titans. Also, the MPX is made 'overseas' specifically for Kellyco. Has good features, but seems to be more of a 'generic' MD. I am not so sure on this one either...no reviews. So far I am leaning towards the Titan 3000xd. It's both land & water, does gold nuggets along with the coin - relic - cache modes. ANY info on these would be GREATLY appreciated! I've also done research on the Garrett Predator series. Thanks!

Upvote 0

sherpa t

Jan 25, 2005
Ocala florida
Detector(s) used
Titan / Tesoro SLT/ Fisher F5
Re: questions on MPX & Titan 3000xd MD's

We have a Garret 350gta, a tesoro lobo st and got a titan 3000xd a few weeks ago. The Titan is very good and we are quite pleased with it.
It is quickly becoming our machine of choice. The Garret has never impressed us and I see it being sold soon.
I have re - hunted ground with the the lobo after the titan and so far four nickels and a penny is all that turned up.
The nickels were probably me more than the machine. With the good clear tones I'm most likely not following through with the nickel hits and checking the meter numbers when I should be.
Yes I tested the machine for gold and it did pretty good, the standard coil and the 4inch coil preform about the same, the 4 is better for getting into tight area's. I feel that we can take this machine on a prospecting trip and not be totally wasting our time. Been coining it to death right now but will try ground tests with different size gold against the tesoro on a slow day soon.