ShelleyB82

Tenderfoot
Mar 28, 2016
Arkansas
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Got a Fisher F2 package for Christmas. Came with 3 different coils. I'm new to this and had read here that the F2 would be a good starting point. However, I'm a little disappointed with the lack of literature provided with the detector. My main question is, how do I know if my detector or coils are waterproof?

Upvote 0

Jason in Enid

Gold Member
Oct 10, 2009
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
because it will say so. If nothing says "waterproof" don't let it get wet. Have you looked to see if there is an online owners manual?

OP
OP
ShelleyB82

ShelleyB82

Tenderfoot
Mar 28, 2016
Arkansas
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The online manual is the same as what came with the product. It doesn't mention water one way or the other. I'd like to be able to get it in shallow rivers popular for floating ...maybe 12" of water or less. Oh well, maybe down the line I'll upgrade.

enamel7

Gold Member
Apr 16, 2005
North Carolina
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Gold
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Google is your friend! Coils are waterproof. Control box isn't. Don't submerge box and don't raise wet coil higher than box and let water run in.

OP
OP
ShelleyB82

ShelleyB82

Tenderfoot
Mar 28, 2016
Arkansas
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks, enamel! That's what I was hoping for and semi expecting

digger27

Bronze Member
May 18, 2011
Coils are waterproof.
The tubes they are attached to are hollow so if you do put the coil in the water and then for some silly reason decide to raise that coil up past horizontal water can and will run down those tubes and can get into the electronics.
Don't laugh, it has happened to others and the result will be a suddenly out of warranty big piece of plastic that you can use as a doorstop...but not much else.