Detector(s) used
Tesoro DeLeon;
Red Racer
Garrett carrot, Makro PP
Lesche shovel and knife
Killer B's head phones
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I am new to metal detecting, as of 12/28/2016. I have found what I would consider a lot of clad coins, with most being pennies.
I am just curious if my finds rate is pretty normal, or out of whack.

From 12/28/2016 until today 02/24/2017: 154 = 1 cent
55 = other (nickels, dimes, and quarters
_____
209 Grand total

So, 74% of my coin finds are pennies, and 26% other. I guess that would be a ratio of 4 to 1.

It appears that folks here in South Georgia will not always pick up a dropped penny, but a little more prone to pick up the others.

Anyways, I'm real curious what some of your percentages are.

Upvote 0

airscapes

Nov 13, 2013
Philadelphia PA
Detector(s) used
DFX 950, U13,6"Exc & 4x6 Coils, Coinmaster GT 4x6 & NEL Hunter coil, TRX Pin Pointer, CZE-T200 FM Transmitter, Sangean DT-400W and ER6i in-ears.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Can't say as when I hunt clad I only bother with nickles dimes and quarters.. but yes, I skip over many pennies.. and no, people don't bother to stop and pick up pennies. One other thing to note, stick your and in your pocket and pull out all your change.. or ask your wife to dump the coins out of her purse.. yo will see far more pennies..

Last edited:

Eleven Cents

Nov 30, 2016
Tucson, AZ
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Vaquero
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I only count my copper pennies. I'd guess my zincoln jar contains another 40 coins. Totals from the last couple months:

Pennies: 23
Dimes: 20
Nickels: 7
Quarters: 5

I usually discriminate out nickels. A couple have been eyeball surface finds.

OP
OP
V

Vern2

Jan 26, 2017
Leesburg Ga
Detector(s) used
Tesoro DeLeon;
Red Racer
Garrett carrot, Makro PP
Lesche shovel and knife
Killer B's head phones
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting