Brand new and would greatly appreciate the help! (Finding the right metal detector)

Sihren

Tenderfoot
Feb 24, 2017
Northern Georgia
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong place (And also if you're sick of this question :tongue3: ) lol! As someone who's always wanted a metal detector, I've finally decided to purchase one. I have searched online through so many websites but it seems there are just so many to choose from and I have a bit of a dilemma.
Since I am new to the hobby.. and also frugal when possible.. I'd like to start out with a fairly inexpensive one. I'm nervous about going too cheap and not really getting the enjoyment out of it, but I don't want to spend hundreds on dollars until I know what features I like, what things I want, etc.
So basically if at all possible I'm looking for something that:
-Is under $200 (the cheaper, the better!)
-Hopefully can differentiate between different metals
-Has some sort of depth indicator

Some possibly helpful things to know:
-Will be used mostly in red georgia clay
- Doesn't matter if waterproof (but of course that would be a bonus)

Sorry if this seems jumbled/vague/ignorant, I am completely new to this! Thanks in advance for your input, it's greatly appreciated!

Upvote 0

Tahts-a-dats-ago

Apr 30, 2014
NJ
Detector(s) used
Legend,
Anfibio multi,
Apex,
ORX,
Deus,
Vanquish 440
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
All the major companies make at least one machine that will fit your budget (and criteria). Bear in mind the fact that while respondents can make suggestions based upon their experiences, it will be you who purchases (and swings) the machine.

I'd strongly recommend that you test several machines out: what works for me may not work for you. Go to your local dealer and test swing several different machines or ask a friend if you can test their machine. See how the different machines feel to you, and how you like each machine's interface.