Help me decide please!

EBCIII

Jul 24, 2007
Ok so I am a total newb!

Hello all my name is Beale and I live in central NC (Burlington). I am about 3-4 hours fro the beach and the mountains. I have been researching this great hobby now for at least a month. I have $600-700 possible a bit more to spend.

What I am trying to get. I will be doing most of my hunting in this area with a trip or two to the beach or mountains per year for some more hunts. I would like to look for coins, jewelry and some relic hunting if possible.

My question is this. Can one detector do what I need? I want it if possible to be one I can grow into and not out of too quick. I have been reading all the reviews and posts and am trying not to buy the wrong one.

Thanks in advance, Beale Carter.

Upvote 0

birdman

Gold Member
Jan 28, 2005
Choctaw Beach Florida
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800 and ORX, tesoro Cibola with garret,whites and minelab pinpointers
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You can get a nice machine for that kind of money .Everyone has a favorite detector so everyone will tell you that this is the best machine or that is the best. There is a lot of good info on this site and lots of great machines in your price range. Metaldetectorreviews.com is a good site for reviews that may help with your decision. I like Tesoros for there all around good performance ,lite weight and life time warranty but most name brand detectors will do well. The key with any machine is to spend time in the field andlearn what its telling you . Good luck and HH.

Tony M SE IA

Sep 25, 2006
Detector(s) used
Minealab Explorer2
;D Look into the higher end Minelab series you can do so much with them to allow you to hunt anywhere and how you want to ! hope that helps happy hunting!

John (Ma)

Silver Member
Jul 12, 2007
Western Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excal 1000, Tesoro Silver Umax, Tiger Shark and Whites MXT.