Permission seeking help please.

Bigmike2334

Nov 14, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi guys I've been enjoying this wonderful hobby for 5 years now and am blessed to have a good group of guys that make up our team, unfortunately land and properties are becoming scarce and I would like to try and master the tricks of the trade to obtaining permissions, especially properties that are owned and well manicured. I've made a flyer explaining our hobby, group, and what we do with our full names and numbers and our logo. Unfortunately it's been hard sometimes to approach a door never mind get the typical no were all set line. :BangHead:I'm just looking for some advice and tips from the more experienced guys on here to learn and maybe get better at this technique and hopefully continue to uncover history. Thanks a lot guys I truly appreciate any help I'm advance! HH!!

Upvote 0

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
Join every single museum and historical society in your area. Attend meetings and get involved. Docent to help out. That would be things like manning the desk, sorting archives, etc.. And might require something like 6 hr. p/month, for example. Once you get the museum ID badge , and get to know people there on a first name basis, it will open lots of doors. In addition to having carte-blanche to back-room resources :)

I find this to be helpful when getting permission. It's quite an ice-breaker to say "Hi, I work for such & such museum. I'm writing at article on the history of a stage stop said to have been in the back 40 of this property. Do you mind if I take some pictures?" blah blah. Then morph it into permission.