New to metal detecting, Santa Cruz

Coastie25

May 8, 2017
California
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey everyone - was hoping to find a buddy to metal detect with in the Santa Cruz area. I've been successful in dry sand, but have a hard time in the wet. Run an AT Pro. I've done the ground balancing manually and automatically, and seem to get targets every few feet. Found some coins and other things, feel like I have the feel for this detector after a few days, but still honing in the skills that come with experience. Have watched a lot of videos, but think it would be nice to have someone who is a serious hunter to go with. My 1 friend I have been going with gets tired and disappointed after an hour when I'm just getting started.

Also, what do you guys do with your sand scoops? I have to hold mine behind my head so it doesn't trigger my detector. Sensitivity down? Or just come to discearn when that happens?

Upvote 0

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
welcome from Salinas, CA. 45 min. south of you. How long you been md'ing ? The beach storm wet-sand-erosion season is behind us now. By several months already. Although some pockets remained on Seabright for a month or two following the last swells. Sand (pushed out by the san lorenzo) continued to come ashore on the south side, for a month or more following.

Anyhow, it's not surprisingly if the wet sand is lame at this time of year. This last winter only had a few weeks of any really good action anyhow.

As for your sandscoop question, here's the setup I'm using. I haven't had any problem with it setting off the coil. You might recognize some of these beaches :)

As for beach erosion, here's some info (some of these links might be out of date, but .... you'll get the gist) :

MDHTALK - Tip: Beach Metal detecting by Tom Tanner