Newbie questions

gentleone444

Apr 28, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey guys so Im pretty new to MDing...I got a Tesoro Mojave a month or so ago and have been hitting it hard. Ive been finding some clad at parks and lots of junk here and there. Couple questions if you dont mind:
-Im finding that the Mojave reads big deep metal the same essentially as small shallow. Granted a coin is a lot tighter signal but Im doing a lot of deep digging and then finding that I cant get to it. And what would be big and deep aside from junk anyways. I have yet to invest in a Lesche so I can really only dig 5 or so inches down and my plugs tend to be 4 to 5 in dia. Should I assume I need to go to deeper to get older stuff?
-What am I looking for when I do historical research? Old schools? Fairgrounds? I have found these but how do you narrow it down even further? What do you look for on the ground? Oldest trees?
-Should I decide what I want to find and focus on that first? Like coins vs jewelry? Old coins vs clad?
Thanks guys for any input. I know thats kind of broad but I really enjoy the hobby just wondering if Im missing something or if it just takes digging alot of trash to get to the good stuff.
Gentle

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

Upvote 0

Tpmetal

Silver Member
Jan 4, 2017
Western ny
Detector(s) used
equinox 800, Whites mx sport, Garrot carrot, bounty hunter time ranger
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting