A little help needed from the ring experts - how old is this silver and 12k ring?

TomW244

Sep 2, 2017
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 600, Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Pinpointer, Bounty Hunter Gold Digger
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I was working a school built in the 1960's and came across a small silver heart-shaped ring. As you can see in the pictures below, it is marked "Sterling" "12K" and it appears that the gold leaves on either side of the silver heart are made of gold. (First of all, this is my FIRST real silver ring, so YESSSS!!! 2nd of all, I'm new to this, so try to remember when something like this was exciting to YOU! :occasion14:) It appears to be an antique or vintage ring and the maker's mark is a capital L with a small c above it and the letter M - For LcM. I can't seem to find that mark anywhere in my research on the old interwebs, so I'm asking for a little help in dating this ring. Thanks, as always!

(The first pick is all of the keepers from this dig. All of the coins are clad, the other ring is costume jewelry, and the shotgun shell is a Winchester No. 16 manufactured sometime between 1878-1949. All from the same ball field.)

All Items.JPG DSCF4249.JPG DSCF4250.JPG Maker's Mark.JPG

Upvote 0

sandswimmer

Apr 6, 2013
Florida
Detector(s) used
Xcal Xterra's DF
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
A lot of those leaf designs like that are on Black hills gold rings & the gold is 12k. Landstroms makes a lot of silver and BHG rings.
SS

Last edited:
OP
OP
TomW244

TomW244

Sep 2, 2017
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 600, Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Pinpointer, Bounty Hunter Gold Digger
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks!

Ogre1190

Bronze Member
Mar 31, 2015
Northern Illinois
Detector(s) used
MineLab E-Trac, MineLab Safari, MineLab Explorer XS,
White's 5000 D, White's 6DB, White's 5000 D GEB
Sunray X-1 for the ML's, Garrett PP for the White's and a Backhoe
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting