Waterproof detector options

AugustMoose87

Sep 10, 2014
Longmont, CO
Detector(s) used
Gold Pan, Sluice, Hand Dredge, X-Terra 30, X-Terra 705, Sand Shark
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So I've been swinging my X-terra 705 for a few years, and while really like it, there are a handful of places I'd like to detect which really require more than just a waterproof coil. So I'm considering options and looking for input on a fully waterproof detector.

I'd honestly prefer to try and modify my 705 to make it waterproof, but I'm hesitant to start playing chop shop with my primary/most expensive unit. In an ideal world, I'd like to just jump to a CTX and be done, but I'm not sure that's in my budget - I'm hoping to stay around $500. Because of the areas I'm looking at, discrimination is pretty important, so I'm leaning away from a PI. I've debated an equinox, but it being a new unit makes my favorite purchasing option (finding a great deal on a broke one I can fix, though I'm still keeping an eye for a CTX this way). The majority of my detecting will be freshwater, but I would like to be able to use it at saltwater beaches when I'm on vacation.

AT Pro? Sandshark?

Upvote 0

ZR2guy

Jan 6, 2011
Southwest Ohio
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 700 (stock and 6" coil), Pro-find 35 PP, Makro PP, and a little luck.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
White's MX Sport?

BrettCo124

Apr 29, 2009
Outside of Philadelphia, PA
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari, Tesoro Sand Shark, Bazooka Gold Trap Mini, Gold Rush Nugget Bucket, Garrett Supersluice Gold Pans
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Tesoro sand shark. Can’t go wrong. Inexpensive and lifetime warranty. Amazing reviews and I️ own it and can say it’s great.

Tired Rooster

Nov 6, 2011
Alabama
Detector(s) used
Minelabs and Tesoros
Several of them....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting