AT gold, Fisher F 44
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Upvote 0

beep1971

Jan 3, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm no electronics expert, but the basic way i understand it is that the signal from the coil is where the raw depth is, eg my machine has 3 levels, it's down to how much filtering of the received signal has been programmed into the unit. The sensitivity setting is just that, it that regulates how much of the received signal it lets through processing, the higher it's set the more weaker signals and ground you hear and you start to get false signals etc. audio gain boosts the weak audio signals.
Take the difference between the ATMax running all metal vs disc channel, the disc channel has more filtering which equals less depth.

Last edited:

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
.... sensitivity has nothing to do with depth and more to do with stability. He said that the sensitivity is about the signal coming back from the ground and has nothing to do with ground penetration.......is this correct??

This is confusing some "which came first, chicken or egg?" type question. The sensitivity setting DOES INDEED have much to do with depth. However, yes.... you run the risk of loosing stability, when you increase the sens. too much for the type ground you're in.

Thus the two terms need not be exclusive of each other. Yes sensitivity has to do with depth, but yes sensitivity has to do with stability AS WELL. Both statements are true and are not exclusive of each other.

I recall that My Spectrum and Whites Eagle SL II had a signal return knob which operated in conjunction with the sens. setting. I recall being told that the sens. knob was the "send" signal, and the signal return knob was the "receive" signal. Or something to that effect. All other machines I've used simply have the sens. knob.

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York