Some search coil questions from a beginner

Punchy71

May 29, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello,
I'm new to metal detectors and have some search coil questions.
1) What size would a small, medium and large sized coil be?
2)Are there only three different types of search coils: A)concentric coils B)monoloop coils and C)Double D coils? Or are there more types than that?
3)Are all search coils interchangeable only within the same brand of detector or is there some kind universal standard on search coils where any coil will work on any detector?
4)Is there anything else that a beginner should know about search coils that you can think of, like for example: some brands of search coils are made better than others or maybe work better or have greater depth or whatever?
Thank you for any help

Upvote 0

Carl-NC

Bronze Member
Mar 19, 2003
Washington
Detector(s) used
Custom Designs and Prototypes
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
1. I generally consider medium to be 8-10". It's also a good size range for all-round hunting.

2. Mono, concentric, DD, OO, 00, Figure-8, coaxial, orthogonal, DOD, 4-over-1, prolly more.

3. Not even within the same brand. And certainly not across brands.

4. Most well-made search coils are pretty comparable in performance. Aftermarket coils used to claim "20% Depth Increase!!" or some such nonsense, tain't so.

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
F75 LTD, 1280X Aquanaut, & a Patriot (back-up/loaner)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting