Ghost Signals?

guitarplaya39

Mar 2, 2018
RVA
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 400
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Sorry if this has been discussed before, but I couldn't find a decent example of my particular problem... I'm still very new to the hobby so bear with me!

On a brief hunt the other day, I had several hits which sounded decent. Pretty consistent signals both directions. Able to pinpoint the target easily. But after some digging, the signal completely disappears. No shovels, boots or anything else near the coil. Coil connector is tight. However, I did have the sensitivity set pretty high. Could clumps of mineralized soil or something breaking up while digging? The hits were in the mid high range, usually 60+.

Thanks for any assistance!

Upvote 0

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
guitarplaya39: Whenever someone comes on with a "disappearing signals" issue, it's invariably something that can't be diagnosed over printed text. Because the very word "signals" is a sound specific word. So, don't get "lost in the examples", but when one person says "signals" , another guy is hearing "flutter", that he knows to ignore. Or even when you think your steel toed boots and shovel is clear of the hole, other things THAT CAN'T BE DIAGNOSED unless someone is there, is occurring.

Let me give you an example:

1) Friend of mine got an XLT (which is a fairly fast motion discriminator). But he kept experiencing "disappearing signals". He sent it to the factory two times for "repairs". Each time they sent it back saying there was nothing wrong with it. They insinuated that he must be operating it wrong. Which only infuriated him more, since he'd read the instruction manual 5x, from cover to cover, and "was not a dummy"