Jun 22, 2016
PA
Detector(s) used
White's MX Sport,
White's MX5,
Garrett Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I've been detecting for about 4 years and I've hunted almost exclusively on public property. I've found a little silver and a few Indian pennies, but nothing too crazy, and I've logged a significant amount of time hunting. My question is: is hunting on state owned property a waste of time? Are most guys hunting on private property after gaining permission? Just curious to get some opinions on hunting public ground vs getting permission and hunting private property. I appreciate your input.

-KP

Upvote 0

Carolina Tom

Gold Member
Apr 4, 2014
Charlotte
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus V3.2 9" & 11" Coils, AT Pro, ProPointer AT, Lesche 55, 75 & 80LT
Primary Interest:
Other
Permission is the only way to fly IMO. Public land has been hunted hard over the last 40 years. Private areas have not had that pressure. Research and permission yields results.

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
F75 LTD, 1280X Aquanaut, & a Patriot (back-up/loaner)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
i agree with Tom. In my area people have been detecting since the 1970's. My primary spots to hunt are private permissions, yet I always have a fall back public location or 2 to "just in case" I have more time on my hands to swing the coil.

bologna321

Bronze Member
Aug 26, 2017
SW MO
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT PRO, Garrett Ultra GTA 500, Equinox 600
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I've been lucky as in there are some parks recently opened in my area on 1800's farmlands that were previously private and are now overgrown. Finding items back in the brush that wouldn't be there if it had been detected hard in the past.

OP
OP
KJP462

KJP462

Jun 22, 2016
PA
Detector(s) used
White's MX Sport,
White's MX5,
Garrett Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting