One year hiatus , now I have the itch worse than ever . Advice needed

martinguitar

Feb 28, 2012
Ohio
Detector(s) used
CTX 3030
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Just a little background on myself before I ask my question. I have been detecting for over 8 years and owned a Whites MXT Pro, Etrac and a CTX 3030 which was my last detector. I loved the CTX , and found many rings and old silver with it but the weight was more than my shoulder wanted. I tried using the pro swing 45 but just didn't care for it. So after hanging it up for a while I have the itch to get back at it again hence my question for everyone .

Most of my hunting is old home sites , lots of iron and junk in the ground as well as my yearly one week vacation to the beach.
If it wasn't for my wet sand/water hunting in saltwater the Deus would be my next purchase but I want stability in the saltwater.
So its looking like I will either purchase the Equinox 600 or the Makro Multi Kruzer (which I think is stable in saltwater ?? ). Or join the waitlist on the Equinox 800 ?

If its worth waiting for the 800 I can do that , but if the 600 or Multi Kruzer would fit the bill I could be swinging quicker.
Just after coming from a few flagship detectors , I want to be sure I am making the right decision.

Thanks

Upvote 0

ltd063

Sep 28, 2016
NC
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 800 & Excal II, Tesoro SandShark, White's DFX
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Unless you plan on using the machine to nugget hunt, I would go with the Equinox 600. The weight is next to nothing and the cost is very low also. Only downside is the waterproof headphones are still a few weeks from being released.

Full disclosure.....I have no experience with the MMK and I just finished my 1st hunt with the Equinox 800.

My only complaint with the Equinox is the lack of a printed user manual. My printer, at home, won't print 2-sided and the cheapest price I have been quoted so far is $28 (Staples).