a coil question

hiyall

May 1, 2018
indiana, united states
Detector(s) used
garrett ace 150, Fisher F75
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
so, i have a garrett ace 150. a novice entry level detector but it works for me. i dont need all the fancy features because im not hard core activist.. yet. when the time comes i may upgrade in the future.

for my question, when i am detecting in trashy areas, all i pick up is iron and this iron is prioritized over everything. so i cannot find anything that may be laying next to iron. this is frustrating and is turning me off to metal detecting.
i saw a video of someone replacing their stock ace 150 coil with a DD coil that is also much bigger and they did a test with 3 iron nails and a coin right by. the detector didnt detect the iron (i assume this is called recovery? im still learning) and detected the coin dead on.

so, do i just need to ditch my garrett ace stock coil and get a better one? what would you recommend?

i want to say i do have a garrett pro pinpointer 2 as well if that would help influence your ideas of coil recommendations.

thanks

Upvote 0

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
F75 LTD, 1280X Aquanaut, & a Patriot (back-up/loaner)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Less targets/trash = larger coil, more targets/trash = smaller coil. Large coils have a better chance of having more targets under the coil and smaller coils will have less. Large coils cover more ground per sweep and give more depth whereas a small coil does not go as deep and gives better target separation.

OP
OP
H

hiyall

May 1, 2018
indiana, united states
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting