Jul 29, 2017
The Old North State
Detector(s) used
Equinox 600
Tesoro Cutlass
Bounty Hunter Tracker II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I certainly hope it's true that there are no dumb questions because I'm going to ask what may be one. As I have said in previous posts, I am new to serious metal detecting. My previous MD'ing has been just sort of banging around with a very inexpensive detector my wife gave me a few years ago. I've recently purchased a couple of nice machines and have secured a few permissions.

I've gotten the idea in reading many posts that most of you are working a site over a period of several days (at least). My question is, how do y'all go about doing a systematic search of an area? I am thinking about using a smaller version of search and rescue grids to mark off the property and doing a thorough search in each area.

I think my main issue is that I haven't developed the patience I need in order to do a good search of an area. Any suggestions will be welcomed.

Upvote 0

Carolina Tom

Gold Member
Apr 4, 2014
Charlotte
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus V3.2 9" & 11" Coils, AT Pro, ProPointer AT, Lesche 55, 75 & 80LT
Primary Interest:
Other
Grid search is the way to go. Do the same area from multiple directions. Locodigger takes tennis balls with him to mark his "lanes". He moves the ball when he finishes a pass. Works well, but looks goofy to me, like the tennis balls fell off of someone's walker!

I usually meander around, I don't have the patience either.

sprailroad

Silver Member
Jan 19, 2017
Grants Pass, Oregon
Detector(s) used
Garrett A3B United States Gold Hunter, GTA 1000, AT Pro, Discovery Treasure Baron "Gold Trax", Minelab X-Terra 70, Safari, & EQ 800, & Nokta Marko Legend. EQ 900.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting