Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
Discoveries

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree59Likes

Thread: First Negitive Community Experiance

« Prev Thread | Next Thread »
    us
    Jun 2018
    Oregon
    Fisher F44
    20 times
    All Types Of Treasure Hunting

First Negitive Community Experiance

Hello,

I am a newbie (a couple of months), but addicted the hobby. I have been swinging my F44 and enjoying it...a good starter detector.

Well anyways... I was coming back from a trip and decided to stop off at a county park (I have a county permit) that was on the way home, one that too far away to go to on a weekend, but it felt like a shame not to take a look around since I was passing it. I stopped by got out my detector and gear and stared to poke around. Found a clad penny right off, so I was excited. There was a baseball diamond and volleyball area and a bunch of benches and tables around them. I figured it looked like a (trashy) but good spot to start. If I picked it out, I am sure a experienced hobbyist already hit it.

I was right, somebody already hit it. They dug everything. They left the junk by the plugs, they left plugs open (in areas where people would run around). They left bottle caps and pull tabs in the bottom of the holes, on the edge of the holes. They left it a mess. I spent a hour filling holes and plugs. Some areas that they did fill they left the junk in the holes and covered them back up. I dug up a few and tossed the caps and tabs. It was sad to see.

Now I suspect it was someone new who got a metal detector and never bothered to learn the etiquette or a kid (bad parents?), but still. I research like a mad fiend when I am Interested in something, detectors, rules, permits...YouTube is a blast with this hobby.

What bad experiences have you had?

us
    Rook

Nov 2013
    Mississippi
    AT Pro, Fisher F75 Limited, White M6, XP Deus Lesche hand digger,Lesche Predator shovel.NEL Storm and Tornado coils.
    1640 times