Search for undiscovered sites

7up2000

Jul 6, 2014
Tucson, Arizona
Detector(s) used
Currently use Garrett AT Pro, Previously used the Fisher F2 for one year
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I'm going to be doing some traveling soon throughout the U.S(mostly Midwest). I'll have my metal detector with me. I've been MDing for about 5 years now and have a real good grasp on the fact that most sites have already been hunted out(covered by MD'ers hundreds of times). I guess I was wondering what is the possibility of finding an undiscovered ballfield(hidden away) or maybe an undiscovered campground or picnic area which is overgrown with weeds and trees. Maybe an abandoned hamlet or Church grounds where the building is gone but the grounds haven't been discovered and picked over. I'd like to be able to go in there and scoop up some silver and copper--really enjoy the hobby at its apex for a few hours. Am I just dreaming? I'm not big on research as it seems to be mostly a waste of time and when out on the road not really practical. I know the golden age of metal detecting is long over but I was thinking just maybe I could get lucky.....and any feedback others might have based on experience would be greatly appreciated. HH.

Upvote 0

Mackaydon

Gold Member
Oct 26, 2004
N. San Diego Pic of my 2 best 'finds'; son & g/son
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
I suggest you rethink your idea that "..research is.......... mostly a waste of time and when out on the road not really practical." In my opinion, research is more necessary now than ever before to find the specific sites you dream about. If you metal detect for health reasons or just want to get out of the house and have some exercise and adventure, then great, do it. But if you really seek what you mentioned, your best bet is to do the research first--IMO.
Don....

ToddsPoint

Gold Member
Mar 2, 2018
Todds Point, IL
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting