How would you approach searching this site? (pics included)

tehinternet

Tenderfoot
Jan 4, 2019
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
This site is in upstate NY. There's been native Americans (various tribes) in the general area in the 1600-1700's. There's an Indian burial ground about 1 mile from here. Then settlers started moving in during the late 1700's onward in this area. This general area (more than just this lot) had many buildings, but it was still about 10 miles from the main city, so rural even back then. Then in the 1920's to 1950's it was turned into a large park and the buildings went abandoned and were eventually removed. This lot appears to have stayed independently owned for a little longer into the 1970's before becoming park property and buildings removed.

Here are many maps and aerials of this site: https://imgur.com/a/1y1sPHN

I am new at the hobby, but have been practicing with my detector and have pulled up some clad and even a crappy childrens/teenager ring (all on a different property). But I am still new and this lot keeps throwing me off. I'd like to think there's at least one coin here somewhere. In my searching around where I think the barn and house where I keep pulling up metal lids, mid 1900's glass, and ~1970's crushed pop cans. The damn cans keep appearing as 10 cent to dollar coins on my detector and it's getting tedious digging them. Also, due to the size of the cans, they've been trickier to pinpoint leading to larger holes and making a simple plug usually not possible. Luckily this spot is closer to wooded and less manicured lawn, but I’m still doing what I can to leave no trace.

Based on how much metal is here, I think I'm on unsearched property and metal detectorists are drawn to move obvious areas in the park to search. Or previous searchers looked in different areas on the lot, used high discrimination, or gave up as I am contemplating.