Permission Rejection Psychology

Deep1

Dec 30, 2018
Carolina Lowcountry
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, Nox 800, Garrett Sea Hunter Mark II, Poor ole wore out Fisher 1266 that still finds stuff.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm gonna try to give my thoughts on not gaining permission and fear of asking for it.
And making it easier on you to ask for it.
I've been MDing for 45 years.
More importantly, I was in sales for 35 years. Spent most of that time cold calling. Toughest sales job of all, convincing strangers to trust you and your product or service.
When I started MDing in the 70s, it was so easy, no idiots leaving craters, disrespecting people's property, leaving trash.
You asked and you were welcome.
One of the things that stand in my mind the most, Mr. Yearly( may he R.I.P.) a very kind man, had given me permission to search his plantation, Tombee.
I'd been out there about 3 or 4 times, when Mr. Yearly saw me working near the entrance and stopped to talk and see what I found. He told me to search the yard of the plantation house. I told him that I didn't feel good about doing his yard. It wasn't your average yard, looked more like a putting green. Told me not to worry about it, said he'd seen the care I'd taken to cover my holes.
It went like that thru the 80's.
Then came digital in the 90's. It changed everything. MDing got a lot easier.
More people than ever where MDing.
That's when the problems started.
Trespassing, property damage, lack of respect for property and its owners.
As we went into the 21st century, things got even worse.
I'm losing permissions I had for years or begging to retain permission. Hearing the same story over and over, people trespassing, leaving holes, tearing up crops, letting cows loose and on and on. I've had it turn into a *****fest against me.
And now, it's 2019, it's harder than ever to get permission.
What used to be 1 out of 10 denying permission in the 70's and 80's, is now 9 out of 10 denying permission.