HOW WOULD YOU PLAN THIS HUNT

BigRay

Apr 21, 2019
Northeast Wisconsin
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 400
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
This is my very first metal detecting an private land. The place is a old farm house that is about 125 years old. Nobody has lived in it from about 1975. House is ready to fall down.

Second one is right across the road that a house was built on in 1979. Behind that 40 acres to the rear of that house was a house built about 125 years ago but house is gone. Only a well is still there.

What would be the best way to go about detecting on these ? Start close by the house or work your way towards the houses from a distance? Any thoughts or ideas would be help full. Or what to look for as a clue where to start. Im kind of new at this an need all the help an ideas i can get.

Upvote 0

mh9162013

Mar 22, 2019
KY
Detector(s) used
Fisher Research Labs F2, Equinox 600, Pro-Find 35, & Garrett Carrot.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
If you know where they used to have clothes lines, you could start where those were/are located. Also, really big and old trees are a good potential spot. Basically, I'd start in areas that saw a lot of traffic, like the front porch steps, barn entrance, etc. This is assuming you want to find coins. If you wanted to find relics, there might be other locations to start looking, like inside the barn.

OP
OP
B

BigRay

Apr 21, 2019
Northeast Wisconsin
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 400
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
This used to be one big farm at one time. Then the county put a road in between the propertys. I detect what ever i can find. Coins seem to be my findings but i have only been hitting play grounds an a few local parks. I use a garrett Ace 400 an have been getting better useing it. Found a old necklace an a few religious medallions. This will be my first big test detecting on virgin grounds. Thank you for the reply ����

releventchair

Gold Member
May 9, 2012
Primary Interest:
Other