EXTREMELY NEW

99mustang

Greenie
May 2, 2019
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi I'm very new to metal detecting, like only a couple days ago I bought my first metal detector. It is a Bounty Hunter Discovery 2000..... I purchased it for $50. My question is,,, Is this a decent entry level detector so I know if I'm going to enjoy this hobby ?
From Reading Posts on this site I believe that I'm going to enjoy detecting very much.
Thanks

Upvote 0

Icewing

Silver Member
Jan 5, 2016
NW Arkanslaw
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 900 / Garrett PropointerAT.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I can't speak to the Bounty Hunter personally but I can tell you investing in a quality pinpointer such as the Garrett Propointer AT (orange) will be a HUGE time saver and make all the difference in the world.

SnohomishDigger

Greenie
Dec 20, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I started off with a Bounty Hunter Tracker IV, with the same idea: get an entry level detector and “test drive” the hobby, in about a year I upgraded to an Equinox 600 because my buddy and I were out practically every weekend hunting.

I second the suggestion to get a pin pointer, it makes finding your target once the ground is open a whole lot easier. There are entry level pinpointers available. They’re serviceable. I started out with one and upgraded to an Garrett Pro Pointer.

TommyB

Jul 24, 2013
OC, Calif
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Whites Surf PI & Whites DFX
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
A pin pointer won't be required if you're just beach detecting. You will need a good scoop. Preferably one with a handle to save your back

OP
OP
99mustang

99mustang

Greenie
May 2, 2019
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks everyone...... Is my detector a good detector for a person just into the hobby

SnohomishDigger

Greenie
Dec 20, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks everyone...... Is my detector a good detector for a person just into the hobby