I Just ordered PI kit from Russia, any tips ?

kingvegan

Sep 11, 2014
Sonoma county CA
Detector(s) used
whites 5900, Tesoro Tiger Shark on order
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I ordered a P.I kit from Russia today. I have never built one before but it looks like what Silverdog was selling several years ago as a Barracuda. I am not certain though. A guy in Canada is offering to build a water proof coil built custom to the specs of the kit, but I don't really know what that means, I am waiting for a response from him. Anyone ever assembled a similar kit? Any tips will be appreciated.

Upvote 0
Oct 5, 2014
Massachusetts
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett: AT Pro, AT Gold & Infinium; Minelab: Explorer SE, II; Simplex; Tesoro: Tejon & Outlaw; White's: V3i
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Every year I have my electrical Engineering students build a very simple metal detector circuit and demonstrate operation. This is to learn about analog, digital, filtering and circuit design. If you are serious about the hobby and are into beach/water hunting; please consider purchasing a complete/working PI machine from a known company. You will have a more productive experience. If you just want to learn electronics...etc. go for it!

Good Luck with the project!

OP
OP
K

kingvegan

Sep 11, 2014
Sonoma county CA
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Every year I have my electrical Engineering students build a very simple metal detector circuit and demonstrate operation. This is to learn about analog, digital, filtering and circuit design. If you are serious about the hobby and are into beach/water hunting; please consider purchasing a complete/working PI machine from a known company. You will have a more productive experience. If you just want to learn electronics...etc. go for it!

Good Luck with the project!