Frustration - Advice Needed - Please Help

exeterjay

Greenie
May 26, 2006
South Coast, MA
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro w/ Pro-Pointer AT
I live in the Seacoast area of New Hampshire. I am new to detecting, but I have always have a desire to pick it up as a long term hobby. Last season I purchased a Bounty Hunter 202 from Walmart ($189) with the hopes of it being a good starter unit. I took it out into the cornfield behind my home and found a post cival war era sword buckle and some musket balls. Great beginers luck! After that, I found nothing and delt with constantly digging holes that I was unable to recover anything from. My targets would seem to move and the 202s readings were never correct on depth or what the object was. So, my question is, will buying a more expensive, better name detector solve these problems? I guess I am just not sure what your getting when you buy detectors that are $400 and up in price over something that cost $200. I apreciate any help or advice. Thanks in advance.

Jay

Upvote 0

re-tek

Jul 15, 2007
miami fl
Detector(s) used
coinstrike, tigershark, ace250, OLD radioshack
the detector is not that great but you can still have fun with it. even a cheap detector in capable hands can find goodies.

being an owner of a cheap radioshack detector for many years, i can tell you that you can learn alot with that bounty hunter. stick with sand/woodchip playgrounds and beaches till you get a feel for the detector. they all behave differently. playgrounds and beaches are easy to dig in so you wont get so frustrated digging garbage.

a technique i like to use at playgrounds and beaches is as follows..