Bronze Member
Mar 31, 2005
Vinemont, Alabama
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Max
Garrett Ace 250
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hey all, I'm wanting to upgrade detectors and was hoping for some advice. I've been using a Garrett Ace 250 for over 12 years now and have been in and out of the hobby. I'm wanting to get more serious into detecting and upgrade my machine but I'm not sure which to upgrade to.

I will mainly be detecting older sites for coins and relics and going back over past sites to see what I missed with the Ace.

The AT Pro and Equinox 600 are at my max price range at the moment. I've seen pros and cons for each machine and I'm mainly looking to find that deep, older stuff and to eliminate as much trash as possible.

Amazon currently has the AT Pro Sports Pack for $488.70 and the cheapest Equinox I see is $649. If the Equinox is the better machine, is it worth that price difference?

A follow up question for Equinox users....I've heard that Equinox is great at finding nickels. Is that true in your experience?

Thanks so much for the help!

Upvote 0

rjeffw

Mar 27, 2017
Western North Carolina
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800, Garrett AT Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I started with the AT Pro. Fine machine. I sold it and got a 800, also a fine machine.
The difference is the 800 is great at the beach the AT is not.
The At is easier to use. The 800 has many more settings to get used to.

Those are just a few things that really pop out.

Sandancer

Jul 18, 2014