Beginner here, looking for a recommendation!

Size

May 21, 2020
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi all-
I’m looking to pick up my first metal detector, and was hoping someone could give me some catered advice as to which one I should invest in.

$1000 is my budget, and “depth” would probably be the most important aspect for me. How deep do standard devices detect to? I would probably pay more for something that has a deeper range.

I plan to do most of my detecting near rivers and fields, and would like it to be able to work underwater to some extent.

Learning curve isn’t an issue as I’ll have plenty of time to learn it.

Thank you in advance!

KB

Upvote 0

Tom Slick

Jul 21, 2012
Mesa AZ
Detector(s) used
XP Deus & Deus II, Makro Multi Kruzer, White's DFX w/18" Arrow Coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Sounds like you're looking for a waterproof all around detector. For less than $1,000, I think the absolute best detector to check those boxes is the Minelab Equinox 800.
$899
Waterproof
Multi Frequency
Wireless headphones
Rechargeable battery
and much more

Xraywolf

Silver Member
Feb 28, 2005
MI USA
Detector(s) used
Ace 400, AT Pro, equinox 800, Simplex,Vanquish 540
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I'd look into the Simplex, competitive with nox 1/3 the price. Use the savings for accessories, pinpointer [$125] quality shovel $90] sand scoop maybe [$50-$200]

Toecutter

Bronze Member
Nov 30, 2018
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Minelab Equinox 800 is a beast of a machine, I personally have never used a turkey turd (nokta) but also would never recommend one either... I alot of youtubers got free turkey turds and talk them up to great machines for a few weeks but I dont see much on them now.... almost like a fart in the wind

jmc24

Feb 24, 2020
Colorado
Detector(s) used