Hello! Newbie Here...Need Recommendations
Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
Discoveries

Like Tree9Likes
  • 4 Post By eightpointoutdoors
  • 1 Post By SlateBeltDigger
  • 1 Post By xr7ator
  • 1 Post By CoinHunterAZ
  • 1 Post By Mackaydon
  • 1 Post By birdman

Thread: Hello! Newbie Here...Need Recommendations

« Prev Thread | Next Thread »
    us
    Mar 2021
    Nashville, TN
    4 times
    All Types Of Treasure Hunting

Hello! Newbie Here...Need Recommendations

Hi everyone! Happy Thursday.

Newbie here. I live in Middle, TN and am wanting to get into Metal Detecting!

I was hoping to maybe get some recommendation on a Metal Detector for someone who is new? What is the recommended price range? Any recommended Brands / Models?

Thanks!

us
    Always A Great Day In PA

Sep 2020
    Bangor, PA
    AT Pro Equinox 600
    377 times
    Metal Detecting
    Hello and welcome!!!!

Depending on your budget, what you'd like to hunt for, and how serious you think you'll take this once you're geared up...there are a lot of great mid-priced machines out there. I think like the rest of us, once you catch on you'll be hooked. I started with a Garrett ACE400 and QUICKLY outgrew it. I wanted something that I could ground balance (calibrate the machine to the soil you're detecting on so you're not going bonkers listening to false signals, in a nutshell), then I upgraded to the AT Pro. I also feel like I outgrew that, and upgraded to an Equinox 600 which has been nothing short of a GREAT machine. Do your research, ask questions here, and don't make the mistake I made by starting with a machine that didn't do what I expected. If I could go back in time I would have gotten the Nox600 right out of the chute.
    lenmac65 likes this.

us
    Mar 2015
    Whites Coin Master, Whites Gold Master GMT, Whites MXSport High banker/dredge, DIY hand trommel, DIY Miller table, DIY fluidbed gold trap sluice, Keene A-52 A-52s 2186 Wheaties
    2712 times
    prospecting, metal detecting