LM

Dec 11, 2007
South
Detector(s) used
Charts and Maps.
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
... at least the coil.

Total newb at this, live in North East Florida within walking distance to a number of really good spots.
Looking to try it out. Some of the more choice spots I know of would involve immersing the coil under water- also, if the "body" (sorry, I'm not hip on all the terminology) could withstand water, that would be a plus.

I couldn't care less about super high performance, brand names, or the like.
I need a very basic, functional beginners detector at as low a price point as I can find.

I see a lot of "underwater metal detectors" advertised on ebay for $200 or less, which is about my price range, however, if they are total nonfunctional junk, I'd rather pass on them.
With that said, if they are functional but just not as "cool" as some of the more expensive big brands, that's OK by me.

Any guidance from you x-perts would be greatly appreciated.

Upvote 0

randall61

Bronze Member
Feb 10, 2004
Guntersville,Alabama
Detector(s) used
fisher 1236x2,viper trident
most metal detector coils are water proof thats the part at the end.underwater mach. are one where the whole mach. is submersible are somewhat pricey.

seas1to2

May 17, 2006
fl
yes the $200 underwater machines are JUNK, I have never owned 1 but have read 100 of complaints about them so steer clear of these, stay with a name brand, you do get what you pay for.Good underwater machines start around 600.00 .

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm not an x-pert, just a newbie with 18 months experience hunting water and still learning from the real experts found at TN.