Tesoro Lobo SuperTRAQ Settings

Telewanger

Tenderfoot
Dec 30, 2007
I bought a Tesoro Lobo SuperTRAQ about 3 years ago. I am a plumber and I have been using it to locate cable TV lines, valves, septic tanks ( with the metal lids ), and copper water lines. It has paid for itself over and over. I have used it to install over 200 sewer and water systems on Holden Beach Island NC, and surrounding areas.

I have read the instructions several times, and have tried different settings. I want to do some beach prospecting.

Would some of you guys tell me the best setting for all knobs and ground selection switch for beach prospecting?

Is there a way to discriminate so I won't pick up so many aluminum can tabs, and still pick up coins, gold, and silver?

Do I really need headphones, or will the speaker work good enough?

Any advise will be great! ;)

Thanks!

Upvote 0
OP
OP
T

Telewanger

Tenderfoot
Dec 30, 2007
I realize that I will be picking up a lot of can tops, but I was hoping that there was a setting that is better than another on the Lobo.

Since the beach here has a ton of salt in it, do I leave it on the alkali mode full time, or the normal mode?

What major difference will it make? ???

mrs.oroblanco

Silver Member
Jan 2, 2008
Black Hills of South Dakota
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Lobo & Garrett Stinger
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Personally, I just like to dig everything when I go beach hunting - along with the sand scoop, its just so easy, and it helps "clean up" the old beach.

I turn discrimination knob off, the sensitivity all the way up, flip the disc switch down (with the black sand and alkaline switch in the center position), turn it on, flip off the discrimination switch (to the center), plug in the headphones - and go. (the book suggests that the discrimination switch (not the knob) should always be on (down) when you start her up).