Need help deciding on new detector

thadious

Jul 13, 2006
Hemet, Ca
Detector(s) used
Sovereign GT, Garret Ace 250, At Pro
Hi everyone! I have been detecting for two years now with a bh 505 and a viper trident. I did OK with the bh not so good with the trident. The thing is after two years I have decided to upgrade to a much better detector. I am leaning towards a dfx but am also considering a se or explorer 1000. I have a bad back and cannot detect more than an hour or two at the most before the pain stops it from being fun. I live in San Diego, Ca and primarily hunt the beaches and parks in that area. I am fully retired though, live in my RV and plan a trip to the east coast this summer, (gas prices willing),. I have tried hunting the water in San Diego on the ocean side and have to say the waves knock me around a lot and quickly put my pain level into the cannot detect range. I am saying this because although I want to hunt the water I am not sure I will be able to.

Any way what I am asking is what do you think the best detector would be for me in the southern Ca area. I will probably only use stock coils and plan on hunting 2 to 3 days a week. Thanks for your input. Ted

Upvote 0

Monty

Gold Member
Jan 26, 2005
Sand Springs, OK
Detector(s) used
ACE 250, Garrett
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If you can't handle the surf, look for lake side beaches to hunt. Since the ocean is a it far for me to drive I have had good success hunting inland lake beaches and shallow water. No surf at all to contend with. I am having the same problem with my back problem. I am going to be shopping for some lighter weight gear this summer so I can perhaps last a bit longer. Tesoro makes a nice lineup of light weight detectors and they have a loyal following here on T-net. Check their section for owner comments. Monty

Michigan Badger

Gold Member
Oct 12, 2005
Northern, Michigan
Detector(s) used
willow stick
Primary Interest:
Other