need direction

dunmar

Feb 6, 2008
OK,
As you can tell I am new at this. I collect used lead, mostly wheel weights. I make my own shot for trap shooting. My most recent adventures have lead me to places where people go to target shot. I have found some lead. I asked if detectors can find lead and have been told yes. Now I need direction on what type of MD to look for. Just could use some advice.

Upvote 0

sniffer

Gold Member
Dec 31, 2006
Kansas
Detector(s) used
XP DEUS
if all you're interested in is lead, the ace 150 will do it easily. If you want a cheap detector bounty hunter will work.
Just remember the cheaper the machine, the less depth on finds.
Buy a good machine, that way, when you're done looking for lead, you can move up to the firing line and collect the goodies that fell out of pockets.

Charlie P. (NY)

Gold Member
Feb 3, 2006
South Central Upstate NY in the foothills of the h
Detector(s) used
Minelab Musketeer Advantage Pro w/8" & 10" DD coils/Fisher F75se(Upgraded to LTD2) w/11" DD, 6.5" concentric & 9.5" NEL Sharpshooter DD coils/Sunray FX-1 Probe & F-Point/Black Widows/Rattler headphone
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
If you are looking for lead shot get something with a relatively high frequency - like 12KHz on up.

I lived 25 years (from age 20 on) in the same house and had a shooting range on the back hill that was well used. Every so often I'd go searching for lead to re-cast in my muzzleloaders.

patman

Jan 12, 2008
Detector(s) used
Tesoro sidewinder umax, Tesoro vaquero
Hi dunmar,
I think any halfway decent detector will find lead. If you do get a detector a good place to search is the tailwater banks below reservoirs, especially when the water is low. There are lots of sinkers there and mostly big ones 3/4oz and up.

Pepper2004

Bronze Member
Dec 17, 2007
Southwest Georgia
Detector(s) used
Whites GMT, Whites M6, Vibra-Probe 570, Ace 250, Bounty Hunter 202, Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505, Whites MXT, 2 Bullseye11