Experience over Tech.

sndman60

Jan 31, 2008
Williamsburg, VA
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX 300
I am rather new to detecting as I have started in Dec. 07 and only have about 25 hours of actual detecting experience. I have been given permission to metal detect on a lady's property that is mostly wooded. She has told me she was pretty sure the land was at one time used as a CW field hospital. So the question, are there any specific settings or descrimination I need to adjust my Whites XLT to? Is there a general rule of thumb when detecting wooded areas as opposed to open fields and yards? Thanks for all the assistane and guidance you can lend.

Upvote 0

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Since you are looking for all items you should use no disc and retrieve everything. Take your time and overlap your sweeps. Pack out all trash and cover your holes. The ground should look like it did before you did any digging.

Montauk3

Nov 2, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Excalibur2 \ Sovereign GT BeachHunter ID
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Good advice from Sandman. May I add, Never get discouraged.

JOE(USA)

Dec 3, 2006
New Milford,CT.
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Cortes/Tiger Shark,Whites,B.H./ Teknetics,3DElectronics/ Two Box, Minelab XS,Excal.
Gary60