Newbie with questions.

Andy_WV

Greenie
Jan 31, 2008
Fairmont, West Virginia
Detector(s) used
Bounty hunter Discovery 2200
hello group!

I am fairly new to the hobby and have really enjoyed reading all the posts. I do however have a few questions. I like all the ideas of cleaning up trash and using a cloth to put you plug on to make the dug area undetectable after target retrieval. I have praciticed in my own yard and have really dug about every target in the yard (3 acres). I really understand how to use the thing now after digging loads of trash and a few clad. I am wanting to find some areas locally and have been checking topo maps of the area in different dates looking for changes. My question is how do I gain access to school property, churches, city parks, and so on? Should I try to find someone to call to ask permission? Or, do i just do it and be polite and hope to not be asked to leave? I like the ideas of flyers for private property and will persue this one, but unsure of public areas. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Regards,
Andy
WV

Upvote 0

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2