REWARDS

I have been reading treasure hunting stories for 20 years now, and would like to express something that I have noticed for along time now.
Almost every lost/returned ring story, the author seems to mention how he/she always turns down a reward offered in order to promote the hobby of metal detecting. It is though the magazine is sending a message for us MD'ers not to accept rewards and this, in turn will help promote the hobby's good name.
Well, I disagree, and I accept all rewards offered.
First of all, I have put my time and energy into finding the object.
Second, I have chose to spend time researching, tracking down the owner out of kindness, not greed.
Finally, I have spent my own money on gas, long distance calls, etc.
I welcome that reward! I definitely earned it!
When I am asked to locate property pegs for people, (and make a special trip) if they don't give a reward, I will tell them that I usually charge for my services.
Why? Because I am a professional, with professional equipment. If they had to hire a surveyor, they would pay a fortune! If they have a big old yard, then I consider that payment enough! :lol:
Anyone want to add anything to this subject? Any interesting reward stories?
Dave.

Upvote 0

Doug-Iowa

Mar 31, 2003
Ottumwa, Iowa USA